Fix for camera permissions problems

Some users have reported a problem when trying to take a photo for upload to TwitPic. This was caused by Yatca not requesting the ‘Recording’ permission, though for some reason this problem wasn’t affecting all devices (including my own). This has been fixed in service release 1.1.2 – link on the right in the usual place. Users must now grant the ‘Recording’ permission to Yatca in addition to the ‘Internet’ permission that has always been required.

Another permissions-related fix in this service release is that when granting a permission to Yatca it is no longer necessary to grant full ‘Allow’ acccess – ‘Prompt’ access will be sufficient. This enables Yatca to be used in environments where BES policy prevents users from granting ‘Allow’ access to third-party applications but does allow ‘Prompt’ access.

This service release doesn’t fix any of the other issues raised (such as the “Error accessing camera: Requested format not supported” that 8900 Curve users are getting when taking a photo), nor does it provide any new functionality or performance improvements. In other words, if the problems described above don’t affect you, there’s absolutely no benefit to be gained from installing this service release!

Tags: , , , ,

28 Responses to “Fix for camera permissions problems”

  1. Osman Says:

    Hey,

    LOVE THIS PRODUCT.. its soo good looking and easy and i love it..

    I dont know if this is already been covered BUT i own a Curve 8900 and when i try to snap a photo it says: Error accessing camera: Requested format not supported.

    just wanted to let you know

    Also, it would be nice to have access to picture that have already been taken – as apposed to ones at the time of tweeting

    If you’d like me to try out any beta updates don’t hesitate to ask.. this app is GOLDEN

    • Yatca Says:

      @Osman I should perhaps have made it explicit in the 1.1.2 post that the camera fix doesn’t address the “Error accessing camera: Requested format not supported” problem that is affecting 8900 Curve users. I’ve now updated the post to make that clear. The 8900 camera doesn’t seem to support the standard 640×480 resolution that I was depending on as a sort of lowest common denominator. So I’ll have to work something out there.

  2. Gavin Says:

    Was going to report this. Is it also possible to give us an option to use an existing picture instead of taking a new one?

  3. Matt Says:

    For some reason now when I take a picture the flash doesn’t work even in the dark.

  4. Tom Whyte Says:

    I am running the 8900 Curve, and the camera fix still does not work. Just thought I would let you know.

    Also, down the road do you think it would be possible to have an On and Off switch for this app?

  5. walter Says:

    camera does not work with storm

  6. HC Says:

    There must be a way to access the photos that we’ve taken to upload those. Also, I noticed that to get the camera to appear in the Photo box, I’ve had to start,then exit the camera. I’m running .109 on 9530.

  7. Osman Says:

    Yea the 3 resolution options for the 8900 ( and im thinking the storm too) is:

    Large: 2048×1536
    Mediam: 1024×768
    Small: 480×360

    and I second the on/off switch. Sometimes i just wanna get away. it would be nice to have that kind of control

  8. Hadi Says:

    Where do I go to ask if I have problems with the app?

    I have a BB Bold and my problem is that the messages do not appear in the combined inbox.

    There’s the Y in the top of my screen saying that I have 22 new notifications but I don’t see any messages from twitter.

    Thanks

  9. mistergreg Says:

    Tom Whyte and Osman: In the settings you have an option to turn auto-update to NONE and that will give you a break ;)

  10. Francis Says:

    Hi, first of all, love this app! However, I have run into a small problem. I’m running OS v4.6.0.247 on a BlackBerry Bold.

    I installed yatca v1.1.2 yesterday and it worked great! The integration with TwitPic was smooth and worked perfectly. However, I restarted my phone last night and had some kind of error message pop up. I ignored it and then noticed that there were no yatca twitter messages in my inbox. I hit menu and picked “Yatca Refresh Statuses” and it gave me an error: “Uncaught exception: java.lang.IllegalArgumenException”.

    I pressed menu again and noticed that the three options had now doubled to 6 (2 of each). I tried the other two options and each time, I would get that error and they would add another set of three Yatca options in the menu.

    I tried another battery pull on the phone with the same results. Does anybody have a similar problem on their phone and is there a fix for it? I don’t want to have to delete and reinstall it everytime I restart my phone. Thanks in advance and again, Great App!

    • Yatca Says:

      @Francis That’s definitely the strangest problem to be reported to date! It seems that Yatca is failing to handle some error and automatically restarting, resulting in its menu items being repeatedly added. I’ll certainly check that out. Thanks. Oh, just to help me out, can you tell me if you’re using a BES?

  11. Ryan Says:

    I get the error “Verification failed: End tag does not match the start tag ‘meta’.” when it tries to verify credentials.
    Can you help?

    • Yatca Says:

      @Ryan Another user has reported this problem. It seems to be caused by a proxy server (or firewall, or something else like that) which is returning a HTML document when Yatca attempts to invoke twitter.com. Most likely the HTML document is describing an error of some kind and it’s difficult for me to track this down without being able to see what that error is. I’ll think of something though.

  12. Ryan Says:

    Thank you, I’m betting it is a proxy. I’m on a BES and we do have a proxy.

  13. Francis Says:

    @Yatca No I’m using BIS. I’ve got no other twitter application installed. Only other applications I have installed that integrates messages into my mailbox are Beejive IM and the new Facebook application v1.5.

  14. Francis Says:

    @Yatca Okay, so I wasn’t sure if it had anything to do with me using the TwitPic camera function. So I deleted my yatca and retarted the phone.

    Reinstalled yatca 1.1.2 – it ran fine and dandy. This time I did not use the photo function.

    Did a battery pull and when the phone restarted, I got the same “Uncaught exception: java.lan.IllegalStateException” message on startup. Needless to say, yatca isn’t working and I’m still getting those new sets of menu items every time I try to run it.

    I guess my point is, that it has nothing to do with whether or not I use the photo function or not. I don’t know if this helps you figure it out.

  15. Aaron Myers Says:

    I’m having a problem with the Yatca application. Everytime I do a battery-pull and the phone starts back up it downloads all the tweet’s since the last time I “Refreshed Yatca Status” even though I have it set to NEVER automatically refresh. Anyway to fix this?

    • Yatca Says:

      @Aaron That’s a bug. Even if you have it set to ‘Never’ it always does an initial timeline refresh on start-up. Will be fixed it in a service release. Thanks.

  16. Brian J King Says:

    ping.fm support will allow for multiple services, that’s what ping.fm does. you still didn’t answer all of my questions though. cheers.

    • Yatca Says:

      @Brian I realise that’s what ping.fm does – I’m just not sure I want Yatca users to have to create yet another account just so that they can cross post to Twitter and, e.g., Facebook. But everything’s up for discussion at this stage so thanks for the suggestion. In answer to the question I missed, yes, Yatca displays the display name by design instead of the screen name. I might make this configurable at some stage but it wouldn’t exactly be top of my list tbh.

  17. Brian J King Says:

    Was going to report this. Is it also possible to give us an option to use an existing picture instead of taking a new one?

  18. Guenter Says:

    hi,
    also got the java exeption on my bold (v4.6.0.126) after rebooting. but in contradiction to Francis, there’s no menu entry visible for yatca.

  19. blake robbins Says:

    Yatca,
    I seem to have an issue. I have it set so I will only receive replies to me, but I seem to get all kinds of tweets in a hidden folder and it shows that I have dozens of “messages”
    What do you recommend?
    Thanks for your help. Other than this issue, I like this very much. Good work. I’m looking forward to your reply and getting this small challenge behind us. Thanks!
    Blake

    • Yatca Says:

      @blake Having one of the ‘Visibility in Message List’ settings at ‘No’ will not prevent receipt of tweets in that particular category. It simply prevents them from being merged into your main message list. Bear with me though. I’m working on a version that provides much greater control and will actually allow you to completely block receipt of tweets in any one of the five categories. Hoping to have it out later in the weekend.

  20. Blake Robbins Says:

    Yatca,

    That’s great! Will you let us know when that happens? I’m stoked and would much rather use Yatca than TwitterBerry! I’m ready when you are!

    -Blake

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

