Why another Twitter client for BlackBerry?

When I first started using Twitter on my BlackBerry, it irritated me that I had to go into a separate application to see my friends’ tweets. My BlackBerry is configured with a single inbox into which goes my work e-mail, personal e-mail, SMS, MMS, IM conversations, etc. I’m the sort of person who likes to get everything in one place and I love the idea of the universal inbox. So I set about writing a Twitter client that worked the way I wanted it to work. The result is yet another twitter client application – ‘Yatca’ for short! I sincerely apologise for the name but being an engineer rather than a marketeer it was the best I could do. You’ll get used to it after a while.

What makes Yatca different to the other Twitter clients for BlackBerry (at least the ones that I’m  aware of) is that it takes advantage of some pretty cool new features that RIM introduced in v4.6 of the device o/s which enable it to integrate with the built-in Messages application that’s found on every BlackBerry device. The upshot is that you get your friends’ tweets in your inbox, just like any other communication. Hurray!

I’m now making Yatca available to anyone else who wants it. The following screenshots will give some idea of what to expect. Although Yatca is a fully-fledged application and not just a browser-hosted web application, you can probably tell that I’ve been more than just a little bit inspired by the web style used in RIM’s fabulous Facebook client.

I’ll post again in a day or two with some important “look before you leap” notes and details of how to download Yatca.

The inbox showing tweets that have been received by Yatca

The inbox showing tweets that have been received by Yatca

Reading a friend's tweet

Reading a friend's tweet

Replying to a friend's tweet

Replying to a friend's tweet

Yatca menu items

Yatca menu items

What are you doing?

What are you doing?

Changing the various Yatca options

Changing the various Yatca options

Tags: , , ,

15 Responses to “Why another Twitter client for BlackBerry?”

  1. Simon Sage Says:

    Hey man, great application. Drop me a line, I’d like to talk about Yatca.

  2. Yatca Says:

    @Simon Visiting with family at the moment (St Patrick’s Day tomorrow here in Ireland) but will contact you asap.

  3. @davbak Says:

    Liking it so far and will keep an eye on it for future enhancements. Screen swipe to move to the next message on touch screen capable devices is a MUST imo.

  4. Mauro Neto Says:

    Hey! Great application, if possible, drop me a line, i´d like to know what tools did you use to develop it.

    Thanks!

  5. Xavier Says:

    Really great app ! I just love your approach and the “all in one single inbox” feature. Brillant !

  6. michael Says:

    I’ve installed Yatca OTA to my Bold on Rogers with OS 4.6.0.162.

    I’ve had it for about 5 minutes and I love it!

    Message list integration isn’t for everyone, but it is definitely for me! (Complementing this with Facebook for BB 1.5…my Messages is now complete!)

    THANK YOU for making this app!

  7. Joey Says:

    Wow this app looks awesome. unfortunately i have a 8130 running on os 4.5 so it’s not compatible with my device, but i’m keeping my fingers crossed 🙂

    by the way, is there a function on it to turn off twitter notifications in the messages mailbox?

  8. Steve Page Says:

    Nice app, but how do you uninstall it?

  9. Gavin Says:

    Excellent app. Exactly what I was looking for in a Twitter client. I was going to ask for twitpic or rt inclusion but saw you added it. How about a “forward to email” option. A lot of tweets have links that I have to refind again once I get back to my computer.

  10. Abby Says:

    Thanks for this great app!

    Sorry if this has been mentioned but the time of all the unread tweets is half chopped in the message list. The time is displayed correctly after the tweet has been read. I can email you a screenshot if you like.

    Feature request: a shortcut key for composing a tweet would be great whether from the home screen or message list.

    Using Bold 4.6.0.237

    • Yatca Says:

      @Abby The truncated time on unread tweets is annoying. Unfortunately though it is a RIM…issue. Yatca has no control over the way the time is formatted and aligned. It simply passes it to the Messages application and it does the rest. Thanks for your feedback.

  11. Gavin Says:

    @yatca… on my bold it looks fine. I wonder if that is because my font size is set at 7.

  12. Meredith Says:

    I’m very excited about Yatca! I’ve tried TwitterBerry, TinyTwitter, and Twibble, and none of them were very good. I’m using a Curve 8310, so I can’t use Yatca yet, but I look forward to trying it someday!

  13. Amie Says:

    I’m so bummed. I downloaded his app for my Bold and basically all I get is an icon telling me how many messages I have but for the life of me I cannot find the messages. I agreed to allow them to mingle i with my general message list but I can’t find them anywhere..Did I install the wrong version or set it up wrong? I’d love to make it work.

    Thanks in advance,

    • Yatca Says:

      @Amie Sorry you’re having trouble with it. If you select the View Folder command from the menu in the Messages application can you see updates/replies in the 5 Yatca folders?

Leave a Reply

