Installing Yatca

Have a quick read through the following before you install Yatca on your BlackBerry. Once you’re happy, you’ll find the link to do an OTA install over on the right.

Yatca requires v4.6 or higher of the BlackBerry system software. It has been tested on a Bold running v4.6 and on a Storm running v4.7. If you don’t know what system software version is on your device go into Options -> About to find out. Don’t attempt to install Yatca on a device running a version previous to v4.6. It definitely will not work and, in extreme cases, may render the device permanently inoperable!

The application will start up automatically following installation and you will be shown a short legal notice regarding liability for carrier charges incurred. You will be required to accept the terms of this notice before continuing.

Legal notice regarding liability for carrier charges

Legal notice regarding liability for carrier charges

You’ll next have to enter your Twitter account credentials. If you don’t already have a Twitter account you’ll need to create one at twitter.com before you can use Yatca. When Yatca attempts to verify your credentials your BlackBerry will prompt you to grant the necessary Internet access permission to Yatca.

Yatca requests Internet access

Yatca requests Internet access

The system’s standard application control permissions dialog will then be displayed with the permissions required by Yatca already filled in and ready to be approved by you.

Your approval is sought

Your approval is sought

If you’re happy to grant Internet access to Yatca (the application cannot run without Internet access) just back up and save the changes when prompted.

Your approval is sought

Your approval is sought

Once your credentials have been successfully verified, your friends’ statuses will be refreshed for the first time and you’ll be ready to go!

Don’t bother looking for a Yatca icon anywhere on your home screen because you won’t find one. Instead, you’ll do everything from within the built-in BlackBerry Messages application (i.e. the place where you go to get your e-mails). If you go into the Messages application and press the BlackBerry key to bring up the menu you’ll see the various Yatca commands. It’s not rocket science so I don’t think there’s any need for a lengthy treatise on how to use them.

Yatca uses the built-in notification mechanism on your BlackBerry to alert you whenever it receives a tweet from one of your friends. So simply edit your various profiles as necessary to set the tone, vibration, LED, etc.

Editing the notification used by Yatca

Editing the notification used by Yatca

This initial version of Yatca is very much a bare bones Twitter client with minimal functionality. But I wanted to get it out there as quickly as possible to gauge the level of interest in this type of Twitter client.

Please let me know what you think!

Tags: , , ,

53 Responses to “Installing Yatca”

  1. Paul Says:

    Very nice looking app. Keep up the good work. Does it handle replies and retweets yet?

  2. Mike Says:

    Fab! Really excellent, love it so far. A simple yet elegant idea. Thank you.

  3. Packetrat Says:

    Great software, I would suggest that it have an option not to integrate with main email box. I for one don’t want my main box full of twitters but wouldn’t mind have another box there so I could check when I felt the need.

    Thanks for the hard work.

  4. Yatca Says:

    Thanks for the comments all!

    @Paul I’ll be releasing version 1.1 tomorrow and it has support for retweets and also twitpic. The current version 1.0.1 supports replies.

    @Packetrat Agree fully that there needs to be greater flexibility regarding the ‘integratedness’ of it. It suits me (because I don’t follow a huge number of people) but I accept it won’t suit everyone. Thanks for the input.

  5. André Lemos Says:

    Hi!

    This looks great, I just have a small request.

    could you make it possible to send pictures via twitpic by NOT using APN? Just BIS for instance.

    thanks

    • Yatca Says:

      @André A fellow developer by the look of things! Yatca always prefers BIS (or BES) over WAP2 or ‘direct TCP’. So it should automatically select BIS if available. If not, I’m doing something wrong!

  6. iyertalks Says:

    Yatca – unfortunatley when I enter my credentials it says invalid meta tag. Any ideas why.

    Thanks.

    – G

  7. André Lemos Says:

    Sorry Yatca, I haven’t seen your previous comment regarding twitpic.

    thanks

  8. MNGerber Says:

    This looks great, but I am having all sorts of problems installing on my STORM. It couldn’t verify my credentials. Is there an issue of compatibility with BES?

  9. Tom Emrich Says:

    Can we create a separate folder for Yacta messages so that they are not included in the message folder?

  10. mike pags Says:

    hey there, really slick app so far.

    any chance you could integrate swipe left/right for next/prev tweet like the way that regular emails and sms works? (on the Storm, that is)

    keep up the good work!

  11. Mark Says:

    Dude, i’d pay for this 🙂 But anyways, here are my thoughts:-

    WHY U WIN OVER THE REST
    1. Counter notification at the top :)))))
    2. Love the fact that i will NOT miss a twit at all since most BB owners are obsessive compulsive email checkers and thus will make sure they execute the MESSAGES icon to open up their new Tweet messages.

    It could be a dealbreaker between Yatca & Twitterberry. To hell with SocialScope (i requested invitation since 3 months ago) and haven’t gotten any. Reason i say it’s a dealbreaker is because some users may have 10,000+ followers (you should get the drift) and for me, i don’t really fancy Twitterberry that much because there is no ‘counter notification’, no post to Twitpic using Twitterberry on BIS connection and the auto-refreshing does not work on mine since the earlier versions. I use Twitterberry only because it was a standalone native app and i tend to Tweet more than to receive / retrieve Tweets due to the nature of the program.

    So perhaps (just an opinion) make Yatca a standalone app which runs at the background (Tweets go into its on standalone app), has counter notification at the top and allows custom LED color notifications?

    SOME QUERIES
    1) When i download 1.1 tomorrow, should i uninstall the older version first or will the OTA prompt to overwrite?

    2) What’s the length counter of your notification at the top? XX? XXX? XXXX?

    p/s I’m on 4.6.0.247, and no red led notification came up UNTIL i did a battery pull. Just to let u and the rest know 🙂 Also i use BerryBuzz (the app which allows users to change the LED assigns to SMS/MSG/MISS CALL/EMAIL. Is it impossible to develop Yatca to allow us to select the color of the LED notification when a new Tweet comes in?

    Thanks dude. You made my day 🙂

    • Yatca Says:

      @Mark Very much appreciate the time you obviously took to write up this comment. I’ll address many of the issues you raise in a rolled up comment response post later on.

  12. Trae Says:

    The feature set looks awesome, but I would say in order to be “The Blackberry Twitter Client” you need to have a version running on OS 4.5 (maybe even earlier). I don’t see the Curve 83xx or the Pearl 81xx dying off any time soon, so you’ll need support for those too.

  13. Deadpan Says:

    Love it so far. Wish the ‘home screen’ off the main app had the ‘what are you doing’ part there. But nice so far.

    If you really want to make a killer app, make something that lets me post text and pics to wordpress!

  14. Brian J King Says:

    Anyone try this on 4.7.103 for the Storm 9530? Any ETA on when it should work? Or does it already?

    I hate both TwitterBerry & TinyTwitter so hopefully this solves my problems . . . if it will work on my Storm, which I also hate. Hopefully this 9630 drops soon and I can afford it. Thanks!

  15. Tiarra Says:

    I’m guessing that it’s supposed to let you read your tweets through your mail box? I’m able to send tweets, but I’m not seeing a way to see my tweets. I just have a little notification at the top of my screen showing how many tweets I have waiting, but there’s nothing in my message box.

  16. BT Says:

    I agree w/ Packetrat – I will try Yatca again once it has the feature to be sorted in a separate mailbox. I love the integration into ‘mail’ though. Keep up the good work!

  17. Brian J King Says:

    Looks like on my Storm even though I have it telling me to only show updates replying to ME it is sending me all of the tweets from all of those that I’m following . . . not good.

  18. Cyndi Says:

    I like it so much I deleted tiny twitter. I waiting for the next updated. Thank You

  19. David Lemcoe Says:

    Hello. I have a Blackberry 8830 on Verizon, and when I go to the OTA download, I get this mesage:

    This application requires the following modules, which are not installed:
    net_rim_xml_org
    net_rim_bbapi_messagelist

    After some Googling, I apparently cannot download these. Do you all have any solutions? Thank you.

  20. Brian J King Says:

    1. My comments were removed? Why?
    2. My BlackBerry Storm was getting every tweet sent, not just my @replies even when I set this and saved the option.
    3. Support for DM Inbox & Sent would be great.
    4. Twitpic support will be great.
    5. RT support will be great.

  21. 9of13 Says:

    Personally, an icon on the homescreen will eliminate the need to go into the inbox and them pull up the menu. Sometimes, one just wants to update status without so many keypresses just to get to the Application.
    This app does have seriously mojor potential!

  22. Pierre Fontenelle Says:

    If this app turns out to serve all the needs I think it does I may give up on my plans to create one. One thing though, many clients still use 4.5 and below. If you want to be “the” twitter client for blackberry’s, can’t just support the latest of the latest software.

  23. @bao3 Says:

    Can Yatca use WIFI preferred ?

  24. lurizzle Says:

    Looks awesome – how about some 4.5 OS love? I have an sCurve 8330 and this app would just about change my life.

  25. Lemos Says:

    @Yatca yeah, that’s true 🙂 Let me know if I can help you out with something. I just asked about BIS, because although twitterberry would go through BIS, photos for twitpic would take forever, and would only work if they went through APN.

    here’s to hoping today’s release fixes that 🙂

  26. iyertalks Says:

    Mate – Even on 1.1.1 I am getting start tag does not match end tag for meta when I try to login.

    I am on the following OS.

    BlackBerry® 9000
    smartphone (3G, Wi-Fi)
    v4.6.0.244 (Platform 4.0.0.203)
    Cryptographic Kernel v3.8.5.50a
    Branding Version: 1.0.149.132
    Micro Edition Configuration: CLDC-1.1
    Micro Edition Profile: MIDP-2.0
    Micro Edition JTWI Version: 1.0
    Micro Edition Media Version: 1.1
    Micro Edition PIM Version: 1.0
    Micro Edition File Version: 1.0
    Micro Edition Bluetooth Version: 1.1
    Micro Edition Location Version: 1.0.1
    Micro Edition Security and Trust Services (APDU) Version: 1.0
    WLAN Version: 2.4.0.82{16}

    Appreciate if you can help me configure.

    Thanks.

    – G

    • Yatca Says:

      @iyertalks My guess is that the”invalid meta tags” that Yatca is choking on are coming from a proxy of some kind. Do you know if you are using a BES? Do you know if other Twitter client apps (or ‘otcas’ as they are known in Yatca speak) work correctly on your BlackBerry?

  27. Tiarra Says:

    @Yatca I’m running v4.7 on the BBerry Storm.

  28. carl Says:

    Looks like a nice app if i can get it to run!

    For whatever reason (policy?) I cannot set application permissions to “allow” only to “prompt”. That’s ok with me, but Yatca won’t let me progress beyond. Is this a requirement for the application (allow not prompt) or just an error check that could be modified to permit the “prompt” setting for internet permissions?

    In any case thanks for your efforts.

    • Yatca Says:

      @carl It is possibly a policy that is preventing you from setting the Internet permission to “allow” – are you on a BES? But yes, I think you’re right. Yatca checks that the required permission is “allow” when, as you point out, “prompt” should be acceptable. I will fix this asap.

  29. Carl Says:

    @Yatca – thanks for the reply. Yes I am on a BES. If you could make the change to permit the use of ‘prompt’ permissions, that’d be great.

    Thanks again!

    • Yatca Says:

      @Carl The service release I’ve just posted should be cool with the lesser ‘Prompt’ permissions instead of ‘Allow’ permissions. Thanks for the help on this one.

  30. Gokulesh Says:

    Hi,

    Awesome app. Thanks for all the hard work and sharing it. I have a bold and the app installs fine. I can see the “Y” at the top of the screen when a new tweet arrives but when i go to the messages there is nothing there. I have to search for all unopened message and only than do the messages show up. Once I open and read, I cannot delete so I close and than ofcourse I cannot find them.

    Am I doing something wrong during sedtup?

    Thanks,

    G

  31. iyertalks Says:

    All other OTCA;s work just fine. I use BES, not sure if you use BIS or BES for connectivity ?

    – G

    • Yatca Says:

      @iyertalks I use BIS but I know that some Yatca users are on a BES and aren’t having the problem you’re having. I’ll see if I can work out what the OTCAs do differently. One possibility is that they fetch data from Twitter in a format other than XML.

  32. carl Says:

    @Yatca that did the trick! Works great! Thanks so much for the quick fix.

    Just curious, is it possible to support the ‘n’ (next) and ‘p’ (previous) keystrokes within messages?

    (Curse of the developer – fix a bug, get a new feature suggestion!! 🙂

    Thanks again.

    -C

  33. iyertalks Says:

    Appreciate if you can find a solution i am eager to get this app after reading all these posts. 🙂

    • Yatca Says:

      @iyertalks Somebody else is reporting the same error as you. I’d really love to get to the bottom of it. Would you mind if I mailed you a special build that would capture the HTML that’s being returned to Yatca? I can use the e-mail address associated with your comment if you’re agreeable.

  34. walter Says:

    Camera works on BB storm, os 4.7.0.76 Bell Mobility. before pressing button “photo” insure keyboard is hidden

  35. nzagy Says:

    Great application. Just thought I say : Thank you.
    If you ever in London email me – there is a free drink waiting for you.

  36. matt Says:

    TwitterBerry works fine, but Yacta won’t verify my credentials. I’m on a BES and would like to use Yacta instead.

    • Yatca Says:

      @matt Did you try changing the ‘Use BES/MDS when available’ setting in the Yatca Options screen?

      • matt Says:

        I tried to save my settings with the “Use BES/MDS when available” set to both Yes and No and it still says that it can’t verify. I even changed my password to something really easy to type on the Storm and still wouldn’t work. I will keep trying because your app looks really nice. Let me know if you have any other ideas. Thanks.

  37. Tom Says:

    Another feature that would enhance YATCA. That while you are reading your mail from your inbox,that by pressing the N key it would cycle through BOTH reg email and Twitter mail.It would make reading your mail a lot easy?? Curently you can only cycle through the Yatca mail by pressing the N key. Thank you in advance.

  38. June Rose Says:

    Does yatca use up my texts or mms? It works on my bold perfectly, and I don’t have the data plan. So, I was wondering how it was working. I want it to be able to work over wifi and not cost me my sms charges. So, is it working only through wifi and all it does is show up in my message inbox?

    Also, just a suggestion, could you have yatca to refresh like every minute? It’s not an option on yatca right now, but if you could have that, it would be wonderful! 😀

    This is an awesome app, btw!

    • Yatca Says:

      @June Yatca is a data application and uses data connections – it does not use SMS (aka texts) or MMS. When you say that you don’t have a data plan, it is not clear whether you mean a BlackBerry data plan (BIS) or a generic data plan (WAP or direct TCP). Yatca prefers BIS data connections but if this is not an option on a particular device it can usually use generic data connections instead. Note that even if you don’t have a data plan many carriers will allow generic data connections but will charge you heavily for doing so. Our advice is that you don’t use Yatca if you are uncertain or unhappy how you will be charged by your carrier. Regarding Wi-Fi, Yatca should always use Wi-Fi in preference to the carrier network if a Wi-Fi connection is available. However, it is not possible to configure Yatca so that it will only use Wi-Fi connections.

Leave a Reply

