How to uninstall Yatca

I forgot to address this important question which was asked in a couple of comments yesterday. Apparently, many BlackBerry users uninstall applications by deleting the homescreen icon and this is obviously pretty difficult to do when Yatca doesn’t have a homescreen icon! My bad. I always uninstall applications using the following procedure, which is why the lack of a homescreen icon hasn’t been an issue for me.

  1. On the homescreen go into Options -> Advanced Options -> Applications.
  2. Scroll down the list and select Yatca (be careful that you haven’t got something else selected!).
  3. Press the BlackBerry key to call up the menu and and choose the ‘Delete’ command.
  4. Because Yatca is an autostart application, the system will advise you that the device must be rebooted to complete the uninstall.

Tags: , , , ,

4 Responses to “How to uninstall Yatca”

  1. Kim Says:

    Hi,
    I followed your steps of how to uninstall this app, but the icon is still appearing.
    Please advise.

    Thank you,
    Kim

  2. brett Says:

    I had the same problem, and the device didn’t restart. Is there a way to force a full restart short of pulling the battery out? Now when I go into the applications list, I find that yatca is actually gone but turning the phone on/off doesn’t stop it from running.

    advice?

    Btw, it’s a shame to remove yatca cause twitterberry is silly and often doesn’t download tweets until you open it.

    I really wanted a twitter tool that treated @replies and DMs like emails and separated them from the rest of the tweets.

    Generally I liked Yatca, the integration was nice. But I found that it really overwhelmed my inbox with unimportant stuff and made for a lot of scrolling between emails that i really want to read alot more than most of the tweets I get… If you could make it so that only @replies and DMs come into your inbox, and the rest of the twitter stream can be viewed elsewhere, you would have me!

    • Yatca Says:

      @brett Yatca is an ‘autostart’ application which means that it starts up when the phone is switched on and keeps running in the background even when you’re not using it. As such, short of uninstalling it, it can’t be stopped. This is something I might look at in a future release. In the meantime however, if you just want to stop it from picking up new tweets and replies simply go into Yatca Options and change the Auto-refresh interval setting to ‘None’.

Leave a Reply

