Going away for a few days

It’s a holiday weekend here and I’m going away on a few days R&R. I will have only limited acess to email and web during that time ā€“ just the BlackBerry with a signal quality that is likely to be variable at best. I’ll be back to civilisation on the evening of Monday 13th and will get to comments then. So keep ’em coming. Thanks and Happy Easter!

18 Responses to “Going away for a few days”

  1. Bob Garon Says:

    The new Yatca version doesn’t seem to update well for me anymore and the posts keeps disappearing and reappearing.

    • Yatca Says:

      @Bob I haven’t seen the problems you’re describing (which is not to say I don’t believe you!). Any clues as to how I might reproduce what you’re seeing?

      • Bob Garon Says:

        When I “Mark All As Read” they all disappear until I restart my phone.

        I have an 8900.

        • Yatca Says:

          @Bob That sounds like a definite bug. It doesn’t happen for me though. I’ll check out a couple of things. Thanks.

        • Yatca Says:

          @Bob I’ve just posted the following suggestion to another user: “Can you try changing one of your filter settings (e.g. change something from ‘Merged’ to ‘Non-merged’ or vice versa), save the changes and see if that makes them come back. I’m thinking that they’re not actually gone, it’s just that the Messages app has stopped displaying them for some reason. Changing the filters forces the Messages app to reload them from the cache thereby (hopefully) redisplaying them.”

  2. Bob Garon Says:

    Also I’m not getting any of my @ Replies now on my phone. I see them on Twitter.com, but not on Yatca.

    I uninstalled and reinstalled as well. Still the same. I tried merging all folders and still the same.

  3. L Bo Says:

    Enjoy! Ponder this when you get back.

    Can YATCA have an option to create a folder shortcut on the home screen (at least on the storm?) It’s a little annoying to have to scroll to view folder, then goto the bottom, then select YATCA to open everything.

    A simple shortcut sire!! That’s all we humble peasants ask!!

    On the plus side, I like how the mark all read rapily counts down to nothing. It’d be great to add a sound to that as an option!! I’d have an explosion and just let my tweets rack up just to kill them!

    • Yatca Says:

      @L Bo When I get to the point that I’m adding explosion sound effects (or Pacman gobble, gobble, gobble) I’ll know that Yatca must be close to being ‘finished’ šŸ™‚

      Regarding the shortcut icon (or shortcut command to open the folder), I would love to be able to add that. Unfortunately though, the APIs don’t support it! The message list integration in OS 4.6/4.7 is a bit half-baked with some decidedly raw pastry in there. Hopefully they’ll pop the pie back in the oven for OS 5.0!

  4. Bob Garon Says:

    Also when going to the “Yatca” folder I don’t see anything in it even tho I have everything merged.

    • Yatca Says:

      @Bob There are two Yatca folders and the ‘Non-merged items’ folder will be empty if you have everything merged. Don’t know if this helps!

  5. Dan Says:

    I am getting the same problem as Bob Garon, my storm will refresh for a while like normal and then it will vibrate to say that i have new tweets and when i look everything is gone, but it still says 99+ at the top of the screen. i haven’t had this problem until 1.3.6. I feel as though it is reaching it’s 1000 limit a little early and when it does it is deleting all of them rather than just the oldest ones. thanks for the help.

    • Yatca Says:

      @Dan Can you try changing one of your filter settings (e.g. change something from ‘Merged’ to ‘Non-merged’ or vice versa), save the changes and see if that makes them come back. I’m thinking that they’re not actually gone, it’s just that the Messages app has stopped displaying them for some reason. Changing the filters forces the Messages app to reload them from the cache thereby (hopefully) redisplaying them.

  6. Lance Says:

    I’m having the same problem as Bob (seems to happen once unread Yatca messages reached 99+) but changing the Yatca setting from Merged to Non-merged and back again they reappeared.

  7. Dylan Andersen Says:

    This is such a fantastic application, really, it is.

    The ONLY feature I would ever want is a way to use the “N” and “P” buttons to cycle through the tweets once the are opened. Like, if you’re viewing an SMS, you can hit “N” while the SMS is in full view on your screen to go to the “NEXT” SMS and “P” to go to the “PREVIOUS” SMS.

    I’d love when I had my Yatca tweets full screen in their oh-so-lovely tweet view and be able to sift through them easily with N and P buttons.

    Please šŸ™‚

  8. dan Says:

    Thanks for 1.4.2. Glad you got the disappearing thing worked out. I’ll let you know if I find anything. Thanks again for Yatca.

Leave a Reply

