Which replies are received and which aren’t

This is discussed on the FAQ page but probably worth an airing here on prime time. All versions of Yatca up to now only receive updates and replies from users you follow. Replies sent to you by other users are not collected. This is very much by design. The rationale was that receiving replies from strangers (?) would require Yatca to make a second request to the Twitter servers on each polling cycle which would adversely affect your data usage and battery life.

The feature is however increasingly supported by other Twitter clients and it has been heavily requested for Yatca. So it will be included in the next release of Yatca as an optional behaviour that is enabled by default. To be completely accurate, what will actually be added is support for receiving mentions from users you don’t follow. A mention is a recently introduced Twitter concept for a tweet that includes your screen name anywhere within its text (and therefore includes all replies).

Tags: , , , , , ,

15 Responses to “Which replies are received and which aren’t”

  1. Shua Says:

    yeah i had noticed this too. but its no big deal. cant everyone just get online every once in a while.

    anywho. do you have any idea when the next release date for yatca will be? more specifically the dual account option.? feel free to email me if you dont want the whole world to know. and if you dont know i understand. perfection takes time. and so far this app has been pretty close.

    • Yatca Says:

      @Shua I’m not sure yet when I’ll get the next release will be. There are a couple of big ticket items in it (though unfortunately, from your perspective, multiple accounts aren’t amongst them) and I want to get them as solid as possible before pushing the big red button. I’m also v busy in my day job at the moment which doesn’t help. Hopefully within the next 4-5 days. Sorry about the multiple accounts thing! It will come but not for a bit yet.

    • anon Says:

      To me it’s a VERY big deal. I use Twitter to live-blog events, and I need to see replies from followers who have a specific question about the event. Every event I cover, I have to install a different client on the way there. I’ve also kept an RSS feed of mentions between events in case something else comes through.

      I can see it not mattering to people who use Twitter to keep in touch with friends. But those of us who use it for me need it.

  2. Phillip Says:

    It would be great if it was possible to move between messages using n (next) and p (previous).
    Certainly doesn’t work reviewing messages using the search shortcut method.

    • Yatca Says:

      @Philip Full shortcut/hotkey support is one of the major features in the next release. I’m following the existing conventions where applicable:

      ‘n’ to go to next tweet
      ‘p’ to go to previous tweet
      ‘u’ to go to next unread tweet
      ‘del’ to delete the tweet
      ‘f’ to forward
      ‘r’ to reply
      etc., etc.

  3. Chris Says:

    Thanks for the great app!

    I have just one suggestion: make a way to cancel the current status update on the “Refreshing timeline…” mini-window. Sometimes when I don’t have a signal it seems to get hung up and I can’t get past that window for like 15 minutes.

    • Chris Says:

      Also, I am sure you’re working on it, but it would be cool to be able to DM from the app 🙂

      Again, thanks so much for the awesome free program! I can’t really complain about FREE STUFF 😀

      • Yatca Says:

        @Chris My mobile plan includes a lot of bundled texts (SMS) so I almost never use DM. This means I selfishly haven’t got much incentive to add it, being a feature that I would probably never use. But yes, it will come to Yatca.

        • Lewis Says:

          I rarely / never use DM. All of my followers also have email or SMS, and if I want to “DM” them, I don’t use Twitter.

          However, they all seem to think I will eventually read those DMs they are sending me!

    • Yatca Says:

      @Chris 15 minutes – really?!? It should time out after no more than 120 seconds. But whether it’s 1 minute or 15, point taken. I’ll add it to the list.

  4. William Lambton Says:

    Wasn’t aware those types of ‘non-followeds’ @replies were not coming through.

    Yes, they should, most definitely, as an option. People are often not followed for reasons other than lack of interest e.g. to reduce clutter. One might ‘keep up’ with such people by just going direct to their profile on the web. ‘Mentions’ in response to one’s own tweets from them especially (or anyone) can have value.

    Rgds,

    William.

    • Yatca Says:

      @William Yes, it’s already implemented and working beautifully…on my phone only 🙂 Will get it released tonight or tomorrow at a stretch.

      You raise an interesting issue though…just what is the correct term for somebody we don’t follow? Non-followed? Non-friend? Stranger???

  5. Lewis Says:

    hey @Yatca!!!

    Thanks for all the work you’re doing making the BEST twitter client for BlackBerry.

    happy Earth Day.

Leave a Reply

