Favourites, geotagged photos, pause, etc.

It’s been a while but I’ve finally got a new Yatca release ready. N.B. Installing this release will blow away all your existing Yatca settings, updates and replies, i.e. you’ll be starting from scratch from a Yatca perspective. You have been warned. Lots of new stuff so lets get started…

For me, the most useful new feature is the ability to mark/unmark a favourite. This means for example that you can flag any items you need to come back to when you’re back at your computer. Now that I’ve had it for a week or so I don’t know how I managed without it before. To mark something as a favourite simply click the button or use the ‘v’ shortcut.

Marking a tweet as a favourite

Next up on the feature list is geotagged photo uploads. This is disabled by default for your privacy and security. If you want to enable it go to Yatca Options and set ‘Use geotagging’ to ‘Yes’. Note that geotagging will increase your power consumption which will run down your battery a little bit quicker. Note also that on device models which default to obtaining ‘assisted fixes’ you may incur additional carrier charges. We won’t be paying.

At the risk of stating the obvious, the geotagging is only effective if you are using an image storage service that supports geotagging! I have changed the default image storage service for Yatca to TweetPhoto. I’m actually quite happy to do this because I really think those guys are doing some great things and I want to encourage you to try it out.

The ability to pause/resume Yatca refresh finally sees the light of day in this release. Users have been asking for this for a long time. When you’re at your computer and using some ultra-slick desktop Twitter client you don’t want to be getting the same 147 tweets to your BlackBerry too. So just invoke the ‘Pause Yatca Refresh’ command. Then when you leave your computer invoke the ‘Resume Yatca Refresh’. Too easy. Note that the resume is from ‘now’, i.e. the exact instant you resume.

Pausing refresh

Twitter recently introduced the concept of verified accounts for famous athletes, entertainers, politicians, etc. Yatca displays a little white tick on a blue background next to the name of any verified account. Note that they are still working on this feature so if you suddenly stop seeing the little tick next to somebody who previous had one you’ll know why.

A verified account

There are lots of other minor tweaks and improvements in this release which I won’t bore you with. Enjoy!

Tags: , , , , , ,

27 Responses to “Favourites, geotagged photos, pause, etc.”

  1. Shua Says:

    YAY FAVORITES!! keep up the good work! Still the number one twitter app in my opinion!

  2. emag Says:

    Multiple accounts yet? Please? Pretty please? Ideally generalized, but even single accounts on more than 1 service at the same time would be nice.

  3. shmern Says:

    just upgraded to 1.7.1, previous install working perfectly, fantastic client and exactly what i wanted as a mobile twitter client, but now after install i’m getting verification failed: bad request, tired BES both on and off (used to work on before)

    Any ideas?

    • Yatca Says:

      @shmern Is this still happening? I’ve been using various betas of this release for a couple of weeks now, as have a few test users, and this hasn’t been reported. Worst case, try a cold start (battery pull) and see if that fixes it.

      • Shmern Says:

        Yatca, Yeah the problem persists, even after battery pull, or BES/MDS disabled. Twitterberry still working, so credentials and internet access still ok?

        Bummer, I’m missing my Yatca ! (Can you provide a link to 1.6.1 OTA, so I can downgrade to get it back?)

        D.

        • Yatca Says:

          @Shmern Sorry you’re having the problems but it is strange to say the least. I am very slow to make an earlier version available because of the support complications that this introduces. If you have a few minutes, you might go through the following to help me try to get to the bottom of this:

          1. Have you tried uninstalling Yatca, restarting when prompted, reinstalling Yatca?

          2. Do you have a proper BlackBerry data plan with your carrier or do you just have a generic subscription like one might have with another mobile device?

          3. Go into Options -> Advanced Options -> Service Book and tell me the names of the entries that contain [IPPP] after them.

          4. When you get the ‘Verification failed: Bad Request’ do you get asked if you want to see more detail? If so, what are the details?

          5. Go into Options -> Security Options -> Firewall to see if your device firewall is enabled. If it is, you could try temporarily disabling it to see if that fixes the problem.

          6. Go into Options -> Advanced Options -> Applications, scroll down the list to highlight Yatca and invoke the Edit Permissions command from the menu. In the permissions dialog that is displayed, expand the Connections folder and verify that the Internet permission is set to Allow.

          • Shmern Says:

            1. Yatca, uninstalled, restarted, reinstalled, restarted and tested again, same issue.

            2.Yup on a Corporate BES with Full data plan (I’m the BES Admin also!)

            3. IPPP’s as follows
            Desktop IPPP (My BES)
            IPPP for BIBS
            IPPP for 5 Click

            4. No, do not get prompted for more details, this is a Yatca Error message, just after verifying credentials msgbox

            5. Firewall is enabled, but as mentioned it was working with 1.6.1 and all other apps working? But I’ll disable it shortly (have to do it from the BES!)

            6. Connections was set to Custom? reset it to Allow and retested, still Bad Request error? Restart… still bad request, actually tried a wrong password to see if it would respond with incorrect password, still bad request, oh and this is with BES/MDS option both on and off

            I’m missing my yatca 😦

            TB just not the same

            • Yatca Says:

              @Shmern ‘Connections’ is a permission group containing lots of actual permissions. It would have been set to ‘Custom’ because the permissions within it had different values. That’s why I was saying you should first expand it to see the individual permissions and then check the ‘Internet’ permission in isolation. Beware that by changing the entire group to ‘Allow’ you have granted all permissions within.

              I’ll mail you shortly with some other suggestions 🙂

    • Aaron Myers Says:

      Also, if that doesn’t work: uninstall, restart, reinstall, restart

  4. Chetan Says:

    Excellent! Have been waiting for the update for quite sometime now!

    Thank you!

  5. Abby Says:

    Hi mate, it’s still showing v 1.6.1 when wanting to download. Carry on anyway?

    • Yatca Says:

      @Abby Yes, it’s definitely 1.7.1. What you’re seeing there is a weird BB problem whereby the installer reports a cached version number and size. If you take the leap of faith and install it you’ll see that it is 1.7.1.

  6. Abby Says:

    Just FYI, I happen to clear the cache earlier + batt pull for another app and it’s now showing 1.7.1 when wanting to install.

    O and ‘Use Geotagging’ was set to Yes as I was going through the first setup. Not a problem. Bold 4.6.0.266

    Keep up the good stuff!

    • Yatca Says:

      @Abby Yeah, that cached version number issue is with the BB rather than Yatca. Perhaps the battery pull is the best work around! Looks like you’re right about the geotagging defaulting to ‘Yes’. Oops! I have to do a service release later on anyway because one of the image storage services contacted me asking if I could change the way Yatca was identifying itself. So I’ll combine this with a change to the geotagging default. Thanks for the help.

  7. grant Says:

    I paused it and can’t resume! Help. How do I resume?!

    • Yatca Says:

      @grant When you invoke the ‘Resume Yatca Refresh’ command it just resumes silently – there’s no song and dance routine with dancing girls. Are you getting an error message?

  8. Steven Jones Says:

    Another fantastic update. All working fine. New Request for the ever growing list though 😉 Can you have it NOT refresh the time line when I am entering a new tweet? I’m not sure why I time it so but almost every time I want to tweet I catch it during an refresh and I have to sit and wait.. if it could just avoid refreshing when I have an update window open that would be nice 🙂

    • Yatca Says:

      @Steven Yeah, the way it refreshes when you’re typing is very annoying sometimes! The only complication with a blocking mechanism such as you suggest is that it needs to guard against the situation where the user starts writing an update and then gets distracted by something and puts the phone down. It wouldn’t do if refresh was effectively blocked until they picked up the device two hours later and finished sending the update. So what’s really needed is proper idle detection. Not rocket science by any means but I just wanted you to know that it’s not quite as trivial as it sounds.

  9. Adam Says:

    I can’t imagine that I’m the only person who wants an expanded retweet feature set. I’m consistently frustrated by short urls being cut out of my retweets because of the character limit on the client. It would be great if you could implement a solution that allowed users to determine what text they wished to delete in order to get under the 140 character limit. URLs are typically at the end of tweets and Twitter users haven’t figured out yet that they need to make their tweets even shorter if they are to be retweeted.

    Can we do something about this?

    • Yatca Says:

      @Adam OK, good idea. I’ll put the full text in the edit field but just prevent them from sending it until they get it down to 140 or less. In fact I might make this the behaviour when composing a new tweet or reply too – it can be frustrating if you decide to re-phrase something and have to delete before you can add. Thanks.

  10. Danielle Says:

    love the app as always. Just a few suggestions:
    -is it possible to choose which tweets you want sent to your phone? (similar to how you can choose which users’ tweets you want sent to your phone if you use the sms way)
    -when you click on a link on a tweet, there’s a little many menu options that you added, and its sometimes hard to find the simple “get link”

    but other than that, the app works fine! great work.

    • Yatca Says:

      @Danielle Yes, I’ve long wanted to add a capability to choose which users you see on Yatca. There are some I only ever want to receive on my PC. It will happen eventually…promise! Regarding the ‘Get Link’ command being hard to find, on my device (a Bold) that command is highlighted by default when you click on a link so I don’t have to find it. Is this not the case for you? But maybe you have a point regardless. Perhaps the menu that appears when a link is clicked on shouldn’t be the full menu. I’ll investigate. Thanks.

  11. Steven Jones Says:

    Oh.. another request for the TODO if possible 😀
    When you click certain things from a tweet it will take you to twitter.com on the BlackBerry to get more information. This can be very useful when someone replies to a tweet you’ve made who you don’t already follow. However I find the twitter.com mobile site a little under-featured and wondered how difficult it would be to allow YATCA to have the option to send you to an alternative mobile site such as dabr.co.uk which I find very nice to use on my Bold?

    • Yatca Says:

      @Steven The feature that takes you off to twitter.com when you click on some links is built in to the device – it’s not something that Yatca does at all. Although I haven’t investigated it, I’m guessing it would be difficult or impossible to intercept this.

      • Steven Jones Says:

        Ah I see, shame, but I’ll live 😉 Just I find every time I go to twitter.com I have to log in and then get back the the persons screen to follow them.. guess I should just drop back to the message after viewing their profile and use the handy Yatca follow option.. that would actually make more sense.. I’ll reprogram my mind rather than the blackberry 😉

Leave a Reply

